Five Friday Favourites – Spooky Books

 photo FiveFridayFaves_zps56168c5f.jpg

In celebration of Hallowe’en, this week’s Book Badger‘s Five Friday Favourites is… *drumroll* Spooky/Horror/Hallowe’en reads!

Now, I have to admit, I barely ever get scared while reading a book. I might get scared for the characters (Deathly Hallows wins the prize there as I was terrified for 80% of the book), but feel afraid to walk in dark corridors or see shapes in the dark? Not really. As you can imagine, this made this selection a bit tricky to make.

But try, I did. And so, without further ado, here are five Hallowe’en reads!

 

Doll BonesDoll Bones, Holly Black

“Did you know that bone china had real bones in it?” Poppy said, tapping a porcelain cheek. “Her clay was made from human bones. Little-girl bones. That hair threaded through the scalp is the little girl’s hair. And the body of the doll is filled with her leftover ashes.”

The Diviners (The Diviners #1), Libba Bray 

“Naughty John, Naughty John, does his work with his apron on. Cuts your throat and takes your bones, sells ’em off for a coupla stones.”

The Invisible Man

The Invisible Man, H.G.Wells

He extended his hand: It seemed to meet something in mid-air, and he drew it back with a sharp exclamation. “I wish you’d keep your fingers out of my eye,” said the aerial voice, in a tone of savage expostulation.

Coraline, Neil Gaiman

“How do I know you’ll keep your word?” asked Coraline.
“I swear it,” said the other mother. “I swear it on my own mother’s grave.”
“Does she have a grave?” asked Coraline.
“Oh yes,” said the other mother. “I put her in there myself. And when I found her trying to crawl out, I put her back.”

Cuckoo Song, Frances Hardinge

The first things to shift were the doll’s eyes, the beautiful grey-green glass eyes. Slowly they swivelled, until their gaze was resting on Triss’s face. Then the tiny mouth moved, opened to speak.
‘What are you doing here?’ It was uttered in tones of outrage and surprise, and in a voice as cold and musical as the clinking of cups. ‘Who do you think you are? This is my family.’

~~*~~

How about you? Are there any Hallowe’en reads that you’re sure would get me looking over my shoulder?
Tell me what you think!

Leave a Reply

