A trip to the zoo (Part 1/?)

Maybe it’s my biologist self, maybe it’s just because I love animals, but few things make me as ecstatic as being with animals. Sadly, where I live, I only have access to birds, spiders, flies and mosquitoes (and my cats, of course). Even though the birds are exciting (especially birds of prey), they fly a little too high for us to have a chat. Hence why, when I find myself in a zoo, I go absolutely bonkers.

No, before you get ideas, I don’t try to jump fences or feed them. But I do go… how should I say this… photography crazy. And I squeak at the sight of meerkats. And snakes. And lemurs. And owls. And lizards. And seals. And otters. And — oh you get my drift.

It’s no wonder that whoever I’m with has to physically drag me away from some areas or from the zoo itself. I just love it there too much.

A couple of years ago, I had the chance to revisit the Lisbon Zoo, where I had spent many an afternoon of my childhood but had not gone to in years, and, obviously, went down one of my insanity trips. I’m going to share with you just a few of the hundreds of photos I took that day.

I like this seat. This seat is good.

Draw me like one of your french girls

Must we jump, mummy?

Uh... hi?

Hissy, hissy, little snakey

Even a Gryffindor needs their rest

Lil' Roo

Now I feel like going to the zoo again… Oh dear.

~~*~~

“You know, sometimes the world seems like a pretty mean place.’
‘That’s why animals are so soft and huggy.”
Bill Watterson, Calvin and Hobbes: Scientific Progress Goes “Boink”

Leave a Reply

