I was nominated for the Liebster Award!

liebsteraward

This is coming rather late, but thanks so much to Tara Olivero for nominating me for this award!

The Liebster Award is targeted towards bloggers with less than 200 followers, so that we can learn about each other and our wonderful community.

Here are the rules!

  • Link & thank the blogger who nominated you.
  • Answer the 11 questions your nominator gives you.
  • Tag 11 other bloggers who have 200 or less followers.
  • Ask the 11 bloggers you nominated 11 questions and let them know you nominated them!

So let’s start by answering some questions!

1. What is the one book that every human should read before they die?

Everyone who knows me just a little bit won’t be surprised by my answer, but I’ll have to say Harry Potter. I know, I know, they’re seven books, but they are life changing. There is so much that they teach about: friendship, school, war, family, poverty, disease,… all the while telling a beautiful story.

But alright, if I must only choose one book, I’m going to say Les Miserábles, even though most people wouldn’t have the patience to read it all. Why? Because ““So long as there shall exist, by reason of law and custom, a social condemnation which, in the midst of civilization, artificially creates a hell on earth, and complicates with human fatality a destiny that is divine; so long as the three problems of the century – the degradation of man by the exploitation of his labour, the ruin of women by starvation and the atrophy of childhood by physical and spiritual night are not solved; so long as, in certain regions, social asphyxia shall be possible; in other words and from a still broader point of view, so long as ignorance and misery remain on earth, there should be a need for books such as this.”

2. If you could meet any author, dead or alive, who would you pick and why?

Oh goodness, this one is hard. There are a bunch of them I’d love to sit next to for a while, be it to play a tabletop game and geek out, be it for a proper chat. But I suppose I’ll have to say J.K. Rowling (everyone gasps in utter shock at the obviousness). I mean, Potter did change my life, and, yes, she may get that from a lot of people, but I’d love to tell her. That and a few other things, but those are secret. Shh!

3. What’s the one thing that will automatically turn you off from a book?

“He was everything that mattered” or something along those lines. If the protagonist ignores everything for a romantic interest, I’m done. The idea that romance is as important as oxygen and that friendships don’t matter next to it is a toxic idea that should be out of fiction asap. It’s damaging to children, to teens, to young adults, and to society itself.

Believe me, you can.

4. Who is your fictional doppleganger (what fictional character would be you if you were from a book)?

I want to say Luna Lovegood from Harry Potter (oh look, Potter again!), because she’s awesome and everything I wish I was. But really, most days I’m Remus Lupin.

5. Where is your favorite place to read and why?

Anywhere. Get me somewhere where people aren’t talking to me and I’ll whip out a book and start reading. Train, car, bed, walking,… I’ll read anywhere. I just need the silence. After all, once I’m reading, the rest of the world fades away, which… can be a bit dangerous if you’re walking home at night.

6. If you were to write a memoir about some aspect of your life, what would you call it?

“Tess and the Epic Fail”. Honest and right to the point.

7. What flavor of ice cream would you be, and why?

Cookie dough, and no, it’s not because I’m secretly the Cookie Monster *hides cookies behind back* It’s because I like it *nods and cookie crumbs start raining from hair*

8. When you were a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?

That’ll depend on which part of childhood we’re talking about. The truth is, I wanted to be everything. A scientist, a doctor, a linguist, a translator, a writer, a dancer, a lawyer, a veterinarian, an explorer, a singer, a zoo keeper, everything. I suppose I knew even then I wouldn’t be happy settling on one subject.

9. What’s your Patronus memory (the happiest memory you can think of)?

Ah, one of the Potter questions I’ve never been able to answer… This is why I’d be terrible at conjuring a Patronus. Not because the spell itself is hard, but because I’d keep second guessing myself about what would really be the happiest memory I had. There are so many happy ones, how could I ever point at one and say “that. that one is the happiest”?

10. If you could only listen to one song for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Remember when I said I sucked at this sort of decisions? Yup. I’ll say it again. Besides, I could say something like “Valtari” by Sigur Ros, but if that was the only thing I could listen to, I’d end up getting annoyed of the song sooner or later. Would I really want to get annoyed at such an amazing song? Mm… maybe not.

11. What superpower would you want to have and why?

I bet I’m going to think of something better once I click on the submit button, but as of now I’d say the ability to communicate with animals. Not only because it’d be brilliant to talk to my cats, but also because, well, just think of how much conservation and biology would develop if we had the chance to talk to them!

Let’s face it, this would definitely happen to me.

I don’t think I follow 11 people with less than 200 followers. So, if you happen to be one and feel like answering the 11 questions I’m asking, go for it! Don’t forget to link me the post so I can check your answers!

And finally, here are the questions for my nominees to answer:

  1. What book universe would you like to live in?
  2. If you lived in Middle Earth, which race would you be? Why?
  3. What do you think is the most overrated book out there?
  4. What’s the one book you wish everyone would pick up and read?
  5. If you could meet anyone in time and space, who would it be and why?
  6. Opinion on the Oxford comma?
  7. Other than reading, what is your greatest passion?
  8. If there was nothing in your way, what would you like to accomplish?
  9. What are the worst and best book to film adaptation?
  10. What’s your biggest pet peeve?
  11. The aliens have landed. Everyone is screaming they’ll kill everyone. What do you do?
Leave a Reply

