Five Friday Favourites – Favourite Sequels

 photo FiveFridayFaves_zps56168c5f.jpg

In this week’s Book Badger‘s Five Friday Favourites, I picked five sequels that took my breath away.

 

Days of Blood & StarlightDays of Blood & Starlight (Daughter of Smoke & Bone, #2) (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #2), Laini Taylor

And the winner for least expected book to fall in love with is… *drumroll* DoBaS! What a twist after the first book! We go from instalove and happiness to war and despair in one fantastic transition. What’s more, Taylor is not once afraid of making the characters’ greatest nightmares come true or to explore the very worst of war. It made me very glad I didn’t quit on the series.

“You have only to begin, Lir. Mercy breeds mercy as slaughter breeds slaughter. We can’t expect the world to be better than we make it.”

The Sweet Far ThingThe Sweet Far Thing (Gemma Doyle, #3) (Gemma Doyle #3), Libba Bray

Gemma Doyle gets better and better with each book. I started with a 3/5 for the first book and a whooping 5/5 for this third one, which honestly shattered my heart into tiny pieces. It’s been years and I’m still not over that ending. Bray wove mythology, friendship, family, and romance into a saga that quite simply got better with each book.

“You must remember, my dear lady, the most important rule of any successful illusion: First, the people must want to believe in it.”


The House of Hades
The House of Hades (The Heroes of Olympus, #4) 
(Heroes of Olympus #4), Rick Riordan

If you ever need a reminder that Rick Riordan knows how to tug at your heartstrings, read the last chapters of The Mark of Athena and all of The House of Hades. Riordan began this series with yet another prophecy, full of danger and pain, but none so great as that in The House of Hades, for reasons I shan’t divulge in case I spoil someone. Be aware, though, that this book hurts.

“You promised, Seaweed brain. We would not get separated! Ever again!”

The Amber SpyglassThe Amber Spyglass (His Dark Materials, #3) (His Dark Materials #3), Philip Pullman

The truth is that I read this book about nine years ago, and that I don’t recall it as vividly as all that. And yet, it’s one of those books that shaped me, even more than its two predecessors. I still remember the ending of the book and how it ached to read it. His Dark Materials is a journey in every sense of the word, and the destination was just as wonderful to read as its beginning.

“I stopped believing there was a power of good and a power of evil that were outside us. And I came to believe that good and evil are names for what people do, not for what they are.”


The Two Towers
The Two Towers (The Lord of the Rings, #2) 
(Lord of the Rings #2), J.R.R. Tolkien

My friends have always told me I’m mad for having The Two Towers as my favourite LotR book, but there you have it. Even though most everyone says it’s the dullest of the three, I just love it. Reading Treebeard’s monologues, learning about the backstory of the Ents, and experiencing Middle Earth through Pippin and Merry’s eyes won my heart over so deeply, I was honestly upset when their scenes were over.

“There is some good in this world, and it’s worth fighting for.”

How about you? What are your favourite sequels?
Tell me what you think!

Leave a Reply

