Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Sequels I Can’t Wait To Get

 photo TopTenTuesdays_zps683ac501.jpg

I have finally given in to the Top Ten Tuesday meme, hosted by Broke and the Bookish, and I couldn’t have done that in a better theme: Ten Sequels I Can’t Wait to Get.

This list includes mostly – no, it’s all fantasy now that I look at it, both YA and adult. Most of them haven’t been released yet. Some don’t even have an official or “stand-by” cover (in which case I’ve put up a photo of the author instead). Some don’t even have a title yet. But I need to read them all.

So, without further ado, here they are!

Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4), Marissa Meyer

I cannot wait to know this series is going to end, but at the same time, thinking about it ending is horrid. Meyer’s written some of the best fairytale retellings I’ve ever read and I just don’t want them to end. They’re just so good, guys, so good.

Fairest (The Lunar Chronicles #3.5), Marissa Meyer

Queen Levana’s tale? Just… give it to me. PLEASE. It’s not common to read stories from the villains’ viewpoint. Knowing Meyer, it’s bound to be brilliant. Plus, I’d love to read a Snow White retelling that’ll take Gaiman’s out of my mind for a while (so crept out by it).

Doors of Stone (The Kingkiller Chronicles #3), Patrick Rothfuss

Another I want it but don’t want it. On the one hand, Kvothe’s tale will be over. On the other hand, I really want to know what those seven words were, and what’s inside the chest, and what happened to Kote, and, and –

The Slow Regard of Silent Things (The Kingkiller Chronicles #2.5), Patrick Rothfuss

Pat might leave us waiting for book 3 for long, but he’s kind enough to throw us some treats along the way, and reading Auri’s story is sure to be just that. After all, it is Auri. Pat might say this book is very different, but that only my curiosity and eagerness.

The Winds of Winter (A Song of Ice and Fire #6), G.R.R. Martin

We’re possibly coming to an ending and every step closer to it is a blessing. Plus, after the cliffhangers from book 5, I just want to know what happens to *insert a lot of spoilers here*, and, of course, who’ll sit on the Iron Throne. But I bet that’s for later.

Red Seas Under Red Skies (Gentleman Bastard #2), Scott Lynch

I have no idea how I haven’t read every single spoiler in the world about this book yet, or the next one in the series. I really ought to stop tempting fate. Especially when the series is so good. Really guys, if you love creative worldbuilding, read it.

Lair of Dreams (The Diviners #2), Libba Bray

From my previous experience with Bray’s writing, her series get better and better by the book. So, if The Diviners took my breath away and left me hungry for more, this one is bound to kill me. Hopefully only metaphorically.

Dreams of Gods and Monsters (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #3), Laini Taylor

I might’ve not liked book 1 that much, but the second turned my head around enough that I’m considering skipping a lot of my “to-read” list to just grab this one and read it overnight. Mmm…

Jackaby #2, William Ritter

I’m not sure if the sequel for Jackaby has been confirmed (there is nothing on Goodreads that hints to one thing or the other), but regardless, I do want to read more of this pair’s adventures. Whatever those might be.

Fool’s Quest (The Fitz and the Fool Trilogy #2), Robin Hobb

I know I ought to read Hobb’s other books first, but after Fool’s Assassin, can you blame me for wanting to know what’s going to happen to Fitz and Bee next before then? That cliffhanger doesn’t help either.

 ~~*~~

How about you?
What are some of the sequels you can’t wait to lay your hands on?

 

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Sequels I Can’t Wait To Get

    • Honestly, I feel like adding every book Meyer will ever write to this list. She’s far too good. I never imagined I’d love her books as much as I do.
      Ooh, those two are very good indeed! The Diviners is one of the very few books who managed to creep me out a bit, and The Lies of Locke Lamora does things with fantasy I never saw before being done. I definitely recommend them! :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

