On finishing NaNoWriMo

If you recall this blog post I wrote a couple of weeks ago, I joined up on NaNoWriMo. Just like thousands of people, I began the month of November with feverish writing and the highest of hopes for reaching 50k in 30 days. For a while, it looked like I was going to make it. I was always either on time, a hundred words behind, or five hundred ahead. Until I was not.

It began on the 10th of November. I didn’t feel like writing – which is fair enough. Everyone deserves a break once in a while. But the break lasted until the 12th, when I opened up the document and typed some more 2k words. I was 3k behind by then. Nothing that isn’t recoverable. I’d just need to up the daily word count to 2k.

But then, on the 13th, I had to focus on studying for a few days. A couple of days ago, the studying was no longer necessary but I just didn’t feel like writing.

Today, I am 15k behind. NaNoWriMo says I’d need to write nearly 3k a day to catch up and finish on time. A bit too high a number for me, even when inspiration is plentiful. So… what will I do? Give up? Stock up on black tea and turn off the internet until I reach 50k?

I’m not sure.

The truth is that I could probably make it, but there is so much that needs changing already: the person, the format of the story,… not to mention all the normal second draft editing. I’m not sure if I should ignore it or trudge on, even if knowing that 70% of it will end up in the bin.

NaNoWriMo might be the perfect time to let loose all our inhibitions regarding writing, and yet… what if it turns out to be a complete waste of time and I should be doing things a little slower? And what if doing it slower means I’ll take another year or two to finish? What if waiting will mean that I’ll give up on this project like I always do? The tendrils of new stories are already embracing my brain. Sooner or later, they’ll eclipse this one.

Too many questions, too many doubts, too few answers. I only hope I’ll know which path to follow before November is over.

Are any of you having similar problems with your novels? Or different but very irksome ones too?
Tell me what they are so we can all weep together over the harshness of writing.

Leave a Reply

