Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books On My Winter TBR

 photo TopTenTuesdays_zps683ac501.jpg

It’s time for the Top Ten Tuesday meme, hosted by Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic deals with books we’re meaning to read during the three months of winter.

I’m terrible with following reading plans as I usually just read what I feel like. However, I’m 90% sure I’ll read these, either because I’ve received them as ARCs, because they’re by authors I love, or because I’ve been bitten my nails raw staring at them.

Want to find out which books I’m talking about?


Fairest (The Lunar Chronicles #3.5), Marissa Meyer

January could not come quicker – or the day that I can hold this book anyway. There may be no Cinder, no Cress, but I just know this is a book that I will hold onto dearly. Meyer’s retellings are brilliant, and I am sure Levana’s backstory will be unforgettable.

The Slow Regard of Silent Things (The Kingkiller Chronicles #2.5), Patrick Rothfuss

I was afraid I’d have to wait for this gem to come out in paperback before I could read it, but thanks to Gollancz my copy is arriving somewhere this week! Eek! I’m so excited! It might actually be the first book I’ll pick up this winter.

The Last Leaves FallingThe Last Leaves Falling, Sarah Benwell

Most books I’ve read that mention disability, end up drowning in ableism. How am I to learn about these lives if my contact with them is prejudiced by default? As a member of the DiversifYA team, I’m sure Benwell will teach us a fantastic lesson.

The Fire SermonThe Fire Sermon (The Fire Sermon, #1) (The Fire Sermon #1), Francesca Haig

A dystopia that people have been calling different from all other dystopias, a book that has sold its movie right pre-publication. Colour me intrigued. I’m not sure if this will be another hyped up but not that good book or not, but I’m very willing to find out.

HorrorstorHorrorstor, Grady Hendrix

A horror story told in the format of an Ikea catalogue? If nothing else, this sounds like a hell lot of fun. Knowing that Quirk likes to go out of the box in its books only makes me the more curious about it.

The Fangirl’s Guide to the GalaxyThe Fangirl's Guide to the Galaxy: A Lexicon of Life Hacks for the Modern Lady Geek, Sam Maggs

A geek girl’s guide to cosplay and all things geeky? Count me in! There are so many books of this sort for boys, it was about time the “female version” came out, and from what I’ve heard it’s quite the amazing one. And no wonder. Just look at the cover!

The Walls Around UsThe Walls Around Us, Nova Ren Suma

According to the Goodreads blurb: “The Walls Around Us is a ghostly story of suspense” – this, by itself, got me interested; add “told in two voices—one still living and one long dead.”, and you have me staring wide eyed at the cover in longing.

Grave Mercy9565548 (His Fair Assassin #1), Robin LaFevers

I know. Most everyone is weeping at the recent conclusion of this series, but I haven’t had the chance to even begin it. From what I’ve heard, it’s quite likely my cup of tea. I do like some fantasy in a medieval setting, even if many consider it a cliché by now.

Tides13112921, Betsy Cornwell 

Selkies and bisexual characters, but mostly selkies. I’ve been meaning to read this ever since the book came out and I might do just that this winter. I mean, selkies, guys. When do people ever publish a book about them? I can’t miss this out.

Mrs DallowayMrs. Dalloway, Virginia Woolf

Ah yes, the classics. I haven’t read a classic in a while, and it’s beginning to feel rather odd. Granted, I don’t go through many of them in general, but I like reading one every once in a while; and Woolf is an author I’ve been meaning to try for a long while now.

 ~~*~~

How about you?
Which books are you planning on tackling before the spring equinox?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books On My Winter TBR

  1. I’ve read mostly new books this month: Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel, Sweetness #9 by Stephan Eirik Clark, The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell, and The Book Of Strange New Things by Michel Faber. So after I finish A Dance With Dragons by George R.R Martin, I’m going to read some classics: East Of Eden by John Steinback, Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy, The Idiot by Fyodor Dostoyevsky, Metamorphoses by Ovid, The Iliad by Homer.

    I’m a bit embarrassed to say that I’ve never read Virginia Woolf, so I’m going to add to my list as well! I don’t really stick to reading plans either — but I hope I will be able to read some of those classics. If I wasn’t so squeamish with horror stuff, I would totally read Horrorstor! I should also get around to reading Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage by Haruki Murakami.

    Like

    • I understand you completely, but the good thing about “Fairest” (other than having more of this world and finding out Levana’s backstory) is that it delays the end of the series. I don’t think I’d be quite ready to say goodbye to Cinder and the gang just yet.

      Like

    • It does, doesn’t it? I can’t wait to start reading it!
      I thankfully don’t have that issue with IKEA – both because I don’t need furniture (other than a lot more bookshelves), and because it actually bores me to be there (all those books I could be reading!). Well, unless you’re talking about the “food store” at the end. That one’s a whole different matter ;)

      Like

Leave a Reply

