This post is all about you

Yes, you read it right. Today is not about books or writing or photography or anything else but YOU.

I’ve had an influx of new readers since I posted my “The Blood of Olympus” review last week, which made me realise that all I know about my readership is which posts you like reading the best, how many of you are out there, and little else. I know nothing about each of you as a person. And so, with your help, I’d love to change that.

In the comment section, tell me a little about yourself. Your name, where you come from, your favourite type of cookie, favourite books or genres, a quote you love, your dreams and aspirations, your religion, a secret, an object you hold dear, a joke you love, a favourite animal, a pet peeve,… anything you like!

And if you happen to be curious about me, ask away and I’ll make sure to answer. No questions shall be questioned and none will be ignored. You have my word.

But most of all, thank you for sticking around!

4 thoughts on “This post is all about you

  1. After reading a little bit about molecular ecology it sounds awesome, especially phylogenetics and evolution. I find learning mathematical concepts to be fun, but I’m not so good at arithmetic…If only we could replace numbers with donuts! I totally agree with using books to adventure in strange new worlds and experiencing lives that are completely different from your own, regardless of age. This is why books are important. I also like that you’re advocating book diversity!

    I’m not even sure where to begin with the anime shows I like. Lately, I’ve been watching shonen anime such as Akame ga Kill, Naruto Shippuuden, Attack on Titan, Sword Art Online, Fairy Tail; seinen anime such as Terraformars, Ghost In the Shell, Parasyte; and comedy anime such as Arakawa Under The Bridge, Seitokai no Ichizon, and Haiyore Nyaruko-san. My favorite anime would have to be Cowboy Bebop, Clannad, Akira, and Totoro (hence the Totoro beanie in my profile picture). As a current undergrad student, I definitely had to shift my priorities to studying which left me with less time to watch anime. What anime did you watch when you were younger?

    Like

    • Those are actually my favourite bits in MolEcol actually! I haven’t had the chance of working on either of them yet though, but from what I’ve heard it’s quite tough. Lucky I’ve always liked a challenge! Except if it’s the hard math, which I think would be nicer if they used chocolate. Donuts aren’t really my thing.

      I haven’t watched all of those, but I can agree on Shingeki being absolutely amazing to say the very least. The next season couldn’t come quicker!

      Mm, in my childhood I think I watched mainly Sailor Moon, Doraemon, Pokémon, and Dragon Ball if I’m not mistaken. I probably watched a few more but those are the ones I still remember rushing to the tv to watch.

      Like

  2. Hello! My name is Kenneth but most people call me Kenny — I think it’s because I have a tendency to daydream and generally ignore my surroundings. I found your blog from reading your Asexuality article from Gay YA, and I started reading some of your reviews. I’m from Texas: The place where the weather never makes up its mind and heated debates can be heard over the use of charcoal or propane. As for hobbies, I’m an eclectic reader, 3DS gamer, anime lover, comics newbie, daydream extraordinaire.

    One of my favorite quotes is from American Gods by Neil Gaiman, “People believe, thought Shadow. It’s what people do. They believe. And then they will not take responsibility for their beliefs; they conjure things, and do not trust the conjurations. People populate the darkness with ghosts, with gods, with electrons, with tales. People imagine, and people believe: and it is that belief, that rock-solid belief, that makes things happen.”

    Well that’s all I can write about myself without rambling! What are your favorite book genres? What field of Biology are you interested in? Do you think math is scary?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Kenny! It’s lovely to meet you! :) I’m glad to know that people stuck around after that article!

      Ooh, anime fan? I used to watch quite a lot of it in my teens, but uni took away my time to watch it. Still, you’ll have to tell me what sort of things you like to watch :)

      And that is one fantastic quote. “American Gods” really is something else, isn’t it? Well, all of Gaiman’s writing is extraordinary to say the least.

      As for your questions, my favourite book genre has got to be fantasy, regardless of the age group it’s aimed at. There’s nothing like having adventures in another world be it at 8, 14, 27 or 95.

      I’m interested in genetics, ecology, and evolution, so if you mash it all up, one could say that the area I want to work in in biology is molecular ecology where we get to study all of that and a little bit more. It’s fantastically vast field with a lot to do and a lot of potential to keep growing. And thankfully so far it hasn’t involved a lot of hard math, which I am not afraid of and find fascinating but… well, let’s just say my brain isn’t as wired into math as it used to be ;)

      Like

Leave a Reply

