Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’m Looking Forward To In 2015

 photo TopTenTuesdays_zps683ac501.jpg

It’s time for the Top Ten Tuesday meme, hosted by Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic concerns books we’re looking forward to read in 2015.

Truth be told, I’ve mentioned exactly of these in previous Top Ten Tuesdays, but I’m too excited for them not to scream out their names at the smallest opportunity.


Fairest (The Lunar Chronicles #3.5), Marissa Meyer

After featuring this book twice, I’m not really sure what else to say. So I’ll leave you with Queen Levana, “Ignorance is your defense? How trite. You must see the truth, the fact that you should be dead. It would be so much better for everyone if you were.”

Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4), Marissa Meyer

Eleven something months to go before I can snag this beauty. Too long and yet too short a time. I’m not sure I can say goodbye to Cinder, Iko, Cress, Thorne, and Kai just yet, so having a few more months to prepare is lovely. And yet, waiting…

15724396The Sword of Summer (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard #1), Rick Riordan

Aah! A new Riordan series! And this time with the Norse gods! And with possible connections to the Greek world! (the surname of the MC is Chase after all) I just cannot wait to see what the spin will be.

22896551None of the Above, I.W. Gregorio

I’ve never read a book with an intersex character (at least that I can recall). From the ARC reviews I’ve read so far, None of the Above promises to be educational, touching, and fun – three adjectives I love to have associated with the books I read.

The Last Leaves FallingThe Last Leaves Falling, Sarah Benwell

Another educational and touching read to come! (Can you tell that I’m a Ravenclaw with Hufflepuff proclivities?) This one featuring a Japanese boy with ALS who looks up to the samurai and online friends for comfort and hope in an uncertain future.

The Fire SermonThe Fire Sermon (The Fire Sermon, #1) (The Fire Sermon #1), Francesca Haig

And back to non-contemporary stories. The marketing for this book has been restless on my twitter feed, and I can’t help but to feel increasingly excited for it. I already have the ARC. Now, there’s only the reading left to do.

Lair of Dreams (The Diviners #2), Libba Bray

More creepiness in the 20s New York City? Just give it to me, so I can weep over beautiful writing, diverse characters, and a storyline that is bound to leave me wide-eyed and gasping in a mix of wonder and terror. I do love me some Libba Bray.

Challenger DeepChallenger Deep, Neal Shusterman

From the reviews I’ve read, this is a heartbreaking book about a boy fighting mental disease that somehow includes a visit to the Marianas Trench. I don’t know exactly what to expect, but this book just calls out to me.

Made You UpMade You Up, Francesca Zappia

I must admit that a small part of me is wary about this book. Schizophrenia is not the easiest of topics to approach, or, for that matter, to write about. Still, the blurb and reviews make it sound like a book to keep an eye on.

The Walls Around UsThe Walls Around Us, Nova Ren Suma

A suspenseful novel filled with secrets and slowly revealed truths. Since I last mentioned it, the reviews for The Walls Around Us have kept piling up, and the fact that the majority is positive only makes the wait harder to bear.

 ~~*~~

How about you?
Which books are waiting for you to enter 2015?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’m Looking Forward To In 2015

  1. Whoa! A lot of these books sound great. Dude, I would love to read a book featuring an inter-sex character. I can’t even think of any books with an inter-sex protagonist, so I’m definitely adding that to my list. I just picked up Heroes of Olympus The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan at a library book sale and I heard great things about it. I’m a bit obsessed with anything Japanese, and the premise of The Last Leaves Falling by Sarah Benwell sounds promising.

    I’m looking forward to reading a couple of books in 2015:
    The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro
    All The Rage by Courtney Simmons
    Winds of Winter by George R.R. Martin (I’m hoping for this one!)
    The Just City by Jo Walton

    Like

    • Has Winds of Winter been confirmed for 2015? The last thing I heard they weren’t still sure of when to publish it. I do hope it’s soon though. There’s so much info in the books, I’m starting to forget tidbits, which is a no-no in ASoIaF.

      As for The Last Leaves Falling, I’ve just begun reading it, and I can assure you it’s more than promising. It’s one of those books that sucks you in right at the start :)

      And beware of Riordan, he’s great at cliffhangers, humour and breaking hearts of readers of every age! Also, if you haven’t read the Percy Jackson series, I’d recommend starting with that one before going for Heroes of Olympus :)

      Like

    • Thanks! I’ve heard of the one by Maas, but I’m not sure if I should give it a try or not. I’m always wary when blurbs use words like seductive or erotic. Guess I’ll have to wait for the reviews to drop in.

      Like

  2. I’ve read Last Leaves Falling and it’s incredible. I can’t wait for everyone to read it in in 2015/January . It’s a book I can’t wait to own. Also looking forward to None of the Above and interested to find out more about Made You Up.

    Like

    • I’ve just begun Last Leaves Falling and it’s taking my breath away. Every turn of the page sucks me in further and further. I don’t know what I was expecting, but it’s better than I hoped. It’s going to take the world by storm that one :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

