Dream Caster, by Najeev Raj Nadarajah

16077824Title: Dream Caster
Author:
Najeev Raj Nadarajah
Publisher:
 Bookkus Publishing
Publication date: September 3rd 2013
Pages: 254
ISBN: 0991709403
Source: NetGalley
Rating: 1/5
Buy at: BookDepository

Haunted by memories of his massacred settlement, sixteen-year-old Weaver seeks cover in a hidden refuge among the remains of a ruined city. In the midst of building a new life, Weaver discovers that he has the amazing power to cast his dreams into reality.

Convinced it’s just an anomaly, Weaver ignores it. That is until he learns of a mysterious man who shares the ability, and uses his power to bring nightmares into existence and wage war on the world. The peaceful life Weaver hoped for begins to unravel as waves of chaos begin to break loose about him. In a race against time, Weaver must learn to accept his role as a dream caster and master his new power, before his new home is destroyed and humanity is pushed to the brink of extinction.

DREAMWEAVER, book two of the Dream Cycle, will be available everywhere in later half of 2014.

image

I tried to read this book from start to finish, I really did, but at the 60% mark, with so many other books I’d rather read waiting for me, I had to drop it (something I’ve only done a handful of times in my life). Reading this had become a chore from early on for one simple reason: info dump. There are heaps and heaps of it. I kept reading, thinking it would diminish eventually, and perhaps it does later on, but over 100 pages of info dump are 100 pages too many.

What’s more, it becomes frustrating when the world and character building, and the dialogue are mostly based on:
Random character “Wait, you don’t know what this is? How can you not know this?”
MC “I lived in a secluded village, I never heard of any of this!”
Random character “But how did you survive? Anyway, this is (insert lengthy explanation).”

I tried. I really did, but a book that consistently tells and never shows just doesn’t work for me. Especially so when the same information is repeated some four times in a row using a language that is not that great anyway. Getting into the story was impossible when I could do nothing but groan in frustration. The premise behind it may be interesting, the mash of plenty of genres that are usually separated may work fairly well, but none of it stands out when the writing is the way it is. And that includes the characters who came out feeling like flat, walking clichés that made me want to pull out my hair in frustration.

The book seems to have worked for the majority of people who reviewed it on Goodreads, and perhaps it would for you, but Dream Caster gets an absolute “no” from me.

Leave a Reply

