Gif Review: The Last Leaves Falling, by Sarah Benwell

The Last Leaves FallingTitle: The Last Leaves Falling
Author:
Sarah Benwell 
Publisher:
 Definitions
Publication date: January 29th 2015
Pages: 320
ISBN: 9781909531222
Source: NetGalley
Rating: 4.5/5
Buy at: BookDepository

And these are they. My final moments. They say a warrior must always be mindful of death, but I never imagined that it would find me like this . . .

Japanese teenager, Sora, is diagnosed with ALS (Lou Gehrig’s disease). Lonely and isolated, Sora turns to the ancient wisdom of the samurai for guidance and comfort. But he also finds hope in the present; through the internet he finds friends that see him, not just his illness. This is a story of friendship and acceptance, and testing strength in an uncertain future.

Even though I’ve never done a gif review before, I just felt like I had to for The Last Leaves Falling. I loved this book too much not to give you a look into what I thought of it asap. I’ll publish a full review closer to the publishing date, but as of now, I’ll share this.

At the beginning

When Sora finds friends

When Sora makes the decision

At the end

That last one is not an exaggeration. I thought that my not reading it all in one go would keep me from sobbing, but nope. I curled up in bed, squeezed my stuffed dog and straight out sobbed for God knows how long. This coming from someone who very rarely cries. I can count on the fingers of one hand the number of times I shed a tear while reading.

So yes. Guys, add it to your TBR, to your wishlist, to your pre-orders pile, and when it comes out read it. This book is too good to miss.

(Oh and do keep a box of tissues on you while you’re at it. You’ll thank me later.)

Leave a Reply

