Photographic Monday: Comic Con 2014 Portugal

It’s time to tell you one of the reasons why I’ve been absent from the blog (although, if you’ve been following me on twitter or checking my Flickr, you’ll have guessed it by now): I went to Portugal’s first Comic Con – or to two days of it anyway.

Comic Con Portugal XII

Yes, that’s a zombie trying to escape a lady.

It was a bumpy ride. On the one hand I got to meet this wonderful lady, in front of whom I made an idiot of myself because my mouth refused to work:

Comic Con Portugal XIII

That IS Morena Baccarin! (or, for all fellow browncoats, the lovely Inara)

On the other, a couple of guys from the staff promised me and my friends multiple times that we’d get to meet Natalie Dormer, and, in the end, we didn’t. All because they didn’t stop 50+ people from cutting the line during the five hours we waited. Nice, huh?

But because I don’t want to turn into the Hulk, and because I’m here to show you photos, not rage about the past, I’ll cut straight to the point of this post: the cosplays. There were a whole lot of brilliant ones walking around. Some of them were so ridiculously good, my jaw hit the floor. I’ll be forever sad I spent most of Saturday queueing and had little opportunity to take photos.

I haven’t been able to finish editing all photos of the cosplays I found there, but here are a few of my favourites.

Comic Con Portugal X Comic Con Portugal XIX

Comic Con Portugal VI

Quick fun story: we stalked this guy for some 20min through the con because we weren’t sure if he was cosplaying Captain Jack Harkness or not. He was.

Comic Con Portugal XXIII Comic Con Portugal XXII

Comic Con Portugal VIII

Comic Con Portugal XXI Comic Con Portugal XXV

There were a bunch of other awesome cosplays, including a Katniss that looked too much like Jennifer Lawrence (even in the way she smiled), the legendary Simon Wilkie with his spot-on C3PO, or that Jack Harkness cosplayer up there with the Doctor’s space suit and a companion. Indeed, there were so many nice ones that it was impossible to photograph them all. I’d need a couple more days to go through all of them, and even then it’d be difficult.

And in case you’re wondering, yes, I cosplayed as well. I was Cosima Niehaus from Orphan Black on Friday, and femme!Eleventh Doctor on Saturday. The first got me a few hugs and squeals. The second nods and grins whenever I crossed another Whovian, and a couple of excited conversations about Doctor Who. I did not get lines upon lines of people asking to take photos with me like many others did, but I got to properly geek out with a lot of people and to do some “sight-seeing”, which I do prefer.

If you’re curious about what other cosplays were there, you can check my flickr (I’ll keep updating it) or, for even more of them, the compilation my friend and Comic Con companion (and I don’t mean that in a Doctor Who pun-y way) Diana Sousa‘s wrote for Lytherus.

(*whispers* you should go check them. they’re really good. go, go!)

  ~~*~~

“To really be a nerd, she’d decided, you had to prefer fictional worlds to the real one.”
Fangirl, Rainbow Rowell

2 thoughts on “Photographic Monday: Comic Con 2014 Portugal

Leave a Reply

