2014 End of Year Book Survey

2014 End Of Year Book Survey

Now that 2014 is over and everyone’s in 2015 (happy new year everyone!), it’s the perfect time to look back at last year’s books. After a friend told me about Jamie @ Perpetual Page’s end of year book survey, I couldn’t resist giving it a try. It took a little bit longer than I expected to fill it in, and there are far too many books that could’ve fit each category, but, after much toil and panicky breathing, I finished it.

Hope you enjoy it! Tell me what you think and, if you do it too, do share your survey link so I can go read it through. I’d absolutely love to know what were some of your favourite books this year.

reading-stats-2014

Number Of Books You Read: 95
Number of Re-Reads: 7
Genre You Read The Most From: Fantasy

best-YA-books-2014

1. Best Book You Read In 2014?

Talk about one very hard question to answer. I had the chance to read so many amazing books that it doesn’t seem fair to choose some over others. However, if I had a knife to my throat I’d have to go with Cress by Marissa Meyer.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

I’d heard wonderful things about Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor, but ended up being ridiculously frustrated over it. Thankfully book two is much much better.

3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read in 2014?

Child of the Hidden Sea by A.M. Dellamonica, simply because this was the first fantasy book I’ve ever read with a scientist as a protagonist – and one who thought like a scientist too! All my tears.

4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did) In 2014?

There were actually three of them I was equally successful at nudging people to read: The Diviners, Cinder and The Lost Hero. So far, I’ve had no complaints.

5. Best series you started in 2014? Best Sequel of 2014? Best Series Ender of 2014?

In order:

The Diviners – Libba Bray

Cress – Marissa Meyer

The Blood of Olympus – Rick Riordan

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2014?

Frances Hardinge, definitely. Cuckoo Song was too beautiful for words. I just have got to read the rest of her books.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

I read a lot of “out of my comfort zone” books this year as I’ve wanted to diversify my shelves in every way. One of them being The Invisible Man by H.G. Wells. This one is a classic for a reason. Another that I can’t not mention is The Art of Asking by Amanda Palmer. Wow, guys, wow.

8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

The Diviners by Libba Bray. Gone Girl‘s second half might’ve been impossible to put down, but The Diviners was so from beginning to end.

9. Book You Read In 2014 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Probably none. The books I reread are very few as my TBR pile is infinite.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2014?

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making (Fairyland, #1)

11. Most memorable character of 2014?

Amy Dunne from Gone Girl. That woman just… okay, I won’t say anything more in case I spoil anyone, but damn.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2014?

The Slow Regard of Silent Things by Patrick Rothfuss. I mean, it’s Pat Rothfuss. The language he uses just makes me want to weep.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2014?

All My Puny Sorrows by Miriam Toews. I’ve never read a book that dealt with depression and suicide like this one does, nor one that made me question my beliefs about it like this one did.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2014 to finally read?

I didn’t read them all in 2014 as I had begun the series in 2013, but I’m going to go with A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket. For some reason I never wanted to read them as a kid. It took quite a while for me to get myself together and to read them.

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2014?

Aaah another very hard one! I love quotes too much, and having read both Gaiman and Rothfuss this year, it’s even harder. But since I have to pick one… let’s go with,

“Grown-ups don’t look like grown-ups on the inside either. Outside, they’re big and thoughtless and they always know what they’re doing. Inside, they look just like they always have. Like they did when they were your age. Truth is, there aren’t any grown-ups. Not one, in the whole wide world.” in The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

But I’ve loved so so many more!

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2013?

Shortest: The Snake Charm by Laura Lam – 37 pages

Longest: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K.Rowling – 766 pages

17. Book That Shocked You The Most

That has got to be Gone Girl  by Gillian Flynn. Though I was mildly bored by it until the halfway mark, I realised in a couple of pages how bloody brilliant the book is, and ended up reading that second half with my hand over my mouth.

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

Cress/Thorne from Cress and Percabeth from Percy Jackson/Heroes of Olympus series. I can’t choose between them! They’re both so wonderful and adorable.

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

Annabeth and Nico from The Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan. Even though they don’t interact all the time, their shared moments made me grin like an idiot.

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2014 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

 The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman. Talk about a heartwrenching story.

21. Best Book You Read In 2014 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

Based solely on someone’s rec? Nothing. I need to have at least heard of the book/author before, even if in passing. Having said that, I only began reading Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer after a friend nudged me to do it, and it’s a wonderful thing I did it. That series is brilliant.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2014?

Thorne from The Lunar Chronicles. That boy is too silly and I can’t help but love him.

23. Best 2014 debut you read?

 Jackaby by William Ritter was a whole lot of fun to say the least. It’s definitely worth checking it out!

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

 Well, since I reread the Potter books, I’m going to have to go with Harry Potter. I mean, Hogwarts, guys. Hogwarts.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

Can I say Cress again? I think I have a crush on that book.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2014?

The Art of Asking by Amanda Palmer, which… I did not expect. At all. Both because I rarely read non-fiction and because I rarely get a proper knot in my throat. But here… wow. Look it up, guys. This is a life-changing book.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

Cuckoo Song by Frances Hardinge. From characters to plot to setting to writing style, it’s too good to pass up.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

The Last Leaves Falling by Sarah Benwell. Let’s say I can count on the fingers of one hand the books that have made me wept. This one’s one of them.

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2014?

Lagoon by Nnedi Okorafor. Water based aliens in Nigeria that want to save humankind? Plus mythology? And a great social commentary of current Nigeria? And an environmental debate? God. What didn’t Lagoon speak of?

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K.Rowling, because, well, come on. This was my third time reading it (I can’t re-read book 7 as often as the others) and they died again! Why won’t they all live happily ever after just once?

(Yes, I still hope to see a grinning living Remus at the end of the story, because yes, I am and forever will be in denial of his fate.)

book-blogging

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2014?

Every single one I’ve followed? They’re all absolutely great!

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2014?

My The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman review. It may be gushy, but it was one of the most heartfelt reviews I have ever written.

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

The Asexual Awareness Week post, simply because, although difficult to put on the page for personal reasons, it was a post that I needed to write.

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

Seeing as the last signing I went to was in late 2013 (yay for Pat Rothfuss and Scott Lynch!), can we go with Comic Con Portugal? It’s not exactly bookish, but I did see a lot of Potter cosplays and two girls dressed as demigods.

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2014?

Starting this blog. I’d wanted to give a try at running a book related blog, and taking the leap was wonderful. It’s a lot of work, but it’s definitely been paying off!

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

My review for The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan, which I still don’t believe to have been so widely read. It’s rather daunting, truth be told.

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

My first ever Photographic Monday post “Where’s the frog?”. Even though the photo isn’t mine, I had so much fun searching for the frog in it and asking everyone I know to find it that I think you should give it a try too!

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

NetGalley and Edelweiss! I knew some people got books in advance, but I had always believed that only publishers offered books, and not that bloggers could request them. This was one of the times I was happiest to be proven wrong.

10. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

Yup! The Goodreads 2014 reading challenge. I’d originally set it to 30 books, but ended up augmenting the goal number every now and then. I eventually settled on 60, which, again, I surpassed.

looking-ahead-books-2015

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2014 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2015?

Possibly Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I’ve been meaning to read it for too long now, and I really ought to get on it.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2015 (non-debut)?

Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray. I can’t wait to see what Evie and the rest will be up to, and what else lurks in 20’s New York City.

3. 2015 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio, which I’ll be reading very very soon. Thank Merlin for ARCs!

4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2015?

I don’t want and want to read Winter and Fairest by Marissa Meyer this very minute.

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2015?

Read at least one hundred books. I was very close this year, but next year I’ll make it.

6. A 2015 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

The Last Leaves Falling by Sarah Benwell. READ IT GUYS READ IT.

~~*~~

That’s it from me! How about you?

Leave a Reply

