Bout of Books 12 Update: The Finish Line

Bout of Books

Midnight stroke, and with it came the end of this edition of Bout of Books. As always, it didn’t go according to plan, but I should know by now that planning reads doesn’t work for me in the slightest.

I had expected to read four full books. Instead, I finished an audiobook, began and nearly finished another, read a half and a third of two/threee of my planned reads, and began two other books. Yup, I think it’s time I give up on this planning business altogether. It just isn’t going to stick.

To be more specific, I’ve read:

Organ Reapers by Shay West: 34% (it feels like about 90 pages)
No Return: A Novel of Jeroun by Zachary Jernigan: 50% (or 157 pages)
Northern Lights by Philip Pullman: 78% (equivalent to 320 pages; finished audiobook)
The Subtle Knife by Philip Pullman: 87% (equivalent to 284 pages)
Paperweight by Meg Haston: 64% (or 195 pages)
The Walls Around Us by Nova Ren Suma: 16% (53 pages)

Grand Total: circa 1099 pages.

That’s nearly four 300 pages long books, so, in a way, I guess I fulfilled my goal? Either way, I had plenty of fun, completing a couple of challenges on my tumblr (I kept forgetting to check them), participating in all three Twitter chats (which were a ridiculous amount of fun), and, of course, reading. In the end, that’s the most important thing.

The next Bout of Books will be in Spring, and it couldn’t come quicker. In the meantime, I’ll just head to bed to snooze with a nice novel.

How about you? Did you have fun reading this week? Did you stick to your planned reading?

Leave a Reply

