Gif Review: Throne of Glass Series, by Sarah J. Maas

Did you think the Sarah J Maas fangirling was done? If you did, you were quite mistaken, my friend, for now that I have finished reading the four books out so far, I have even more reason to fangirl.

In a perfect world, I’d write a review for each of the books, but time is scarce these days, so a gif review for each it will be! Make sure to click the titles of the books to get a copy in Book Depository and find more information about them!

THRONE OF GLASS

“You could rattle the stars,” she whispered. “You could do anything, if only you dared. And deep down, you know it, too. That’s what scares you most.”

At the beginning


Because, to be honest, the writing annoyed me for the first 100 or so pages (obviously, the sentiment was not long lasting).

In the middle


Interesting characters and twists are interesting. Maybe people were right in loving this series. And wait, what is that? People expect me to put the book down?

At the end


Yup, they were right. Falling in love with new series? Check. Onto reading the sequels!

Bonus gif for a certain couple


No, really, they’re so great together. Rarely do I ever care for ships, but this? I SHIP IT SO MUCH! Why didn’t it last? Why?

CROWN OF MIDNIGHT

“Some things you hear with your ears. Others, you hear with your heart.

At the beginning


Too much Chaol for my liking, I’m sorry. He’s just, what we call in Portuguese, “a small bread without salt” (i.e. dull).

In the middle


Death of favourite character? There was so much denial there. So much denial I google’d whether the character really was dead or not. Yup. All the denial.

At the end


Expected ending, and yet it hurt. Is this the beginning of the end? Probably.

HEIR OF FIRE

“She was the heir of ash and fire, and she would bow to no one.”

At the beginning


That was a bit of a slow start, and this Rowan guy was getting on my nerves… On the other hand, that is some great character development for Caelena.

In the middle


And a slow middle in a way. I blame the witches chapters for making me feel this way. Rowan, on the other hand, was not bothering me anymore. Quite the opposite.

At the end

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Why does Maas attack my favourites so?! WHY?! IT HURTS, PRECIOUS, IT HURTS. CAN WE GET THE NEXT BOOK NOW?

THE ASSASSIN’S BLADE

“Life isn’t easy, no matter where you are. You’ll make choices you think are right, and then suffer for them.”

At the beginning


Teenage Caelena was really a handful. Sam, on the other hand is too good for this world.

In the middle


It was especially bad when I knew how the book would end.

At the end


I didn’t actually cry, but… WHY JUST WHY. WHY MUST YOU PLUNGE A KNIFE INTO MY HEART AND TWIST IT? I’m sorry for the caps. I just have too many feelings about this ending. And the Heir of Fire ending. Ow.

IN SHORT

Even though I find the first half of all books in this series to be rather slow and predictable, the second halves are to die for. There are so many twists and turns that it makes one want to scream. (I did come close to it at the end of Heir of Fire...) Top that with amazing characters that wrench your heart out of your chest, some great lines, ever improving writing, brilliant character development, the constant looming of disaster, interesting worldbuilding and an author who is not afraid of picking the worst outcome for her characters, and, well, you have a great series. One you will binge read, and then kick yourself for it. After all, there are still three books to go. How can waiting be possible?!

Do yourself a favour and give this series a try. It is really, really good. Honest.

Oh, and did I mention that the MC actually has her period in the first book? And talks about it? How cool is that?! 

3 thoughts on “Gif Review: Throne of Glass Series, by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Oh my… I’m already prepared to be mindblown by how wonderful Sarah J. Maas’s books are. I haven’t started the Throne of Glass series yet but I can’t wait to. And I’m seriously getting a copy of ACoTaR the next time I’m at the bookstore (even though I am trying to refrain from book purchasing sprees)!

    Like

Leave a Reply

