1989 Book Tag

I’ve never done a book tag before, but when I saw Charnell’s (from Reviews from a Bookworm1989 Book Tag, I just had to go for it. It’s such an original tag! Besides, it gives me the chance to finally listen to 1989 (I know, I know, I’m really behind on current music). So, without further ado, here’s the tag!
.

.

WELCOME TO NEW YORK

You can want who you want, boys and boys and girls and girls.


This Is Where It EndsA book with LGBT themes
This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp. Yes, it’s a book about a school shooting. No, it is not solely about LGBTQ+ people, but it’s a book full of diverse, prominent characters, including LGBTQ+ ones (lesbians too! how cool is that?!). Despite the grimness of the story, it still includes  plenty of diverse themes, and does so very well.
BLANK SPACE

You can tell me when it’s over if the high was worth the pain.

The Last Leaves FallingA book that hit you right in the feels… but was totally worth it.
The Last Leaves Falling by Sarah Benwell. Really, just, ugh. It’s one of the three or four books that made me sob to sleep. My heart bleeds still. If you haven’t yet, you should definitely run to a bookstore and get it. It’s so so worth it. Read my review here.
 .

I’ve got a blank space baby and I’ll write your name.


Your latest book boyfriend/girlfriend
I’m not one to “have” book boyfriends, but Sam Lloyd in the Diviners series by Libba Bray is absolutely brilliant and I adore him. He has my heart now and forever. What can I say? I love witty, sarcastic, and charming characters that make me giggle my heart out (especially in Lair of Dreams). Oh, Sam! Read my review here.
  .
STYLE

We never go out of style.

Jane Eyre A timeless classic you love.
I got Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte when I turned sixteen, and fell head over heels over it. I know, I know, the whole “my wife is crazy so I locked her in the attic” thing is grotesque, but I still love the novel, the writing style especially. It’s evocative, beautiful, breath-taking,… it’s perfect, really. The fact that it still speaks to so many women says much about its timelessness as well.
  .
OUT OF THE WOODS
 

The rest of the world is black and white, but we were in screaming colour.

 World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie WarA book which had vivid world building.
World War Z by Max Brooks has one of the best apocalypse scenarios I have ever seen. A world where zombies attack countries other than the US? Check. A world where people, regardless of colour, disability, sexuality, gender, and age take arms and lead? Check. Politics still messing people’s lives? Check. It’s easy to believe the zombies are outside your door while reading this.
  .

The monsters turned out to be just trees.

The Girl With All the GiftsA book where things weren’t exactly how they seemed.
The Girl With All the Gifts by M. R. Carey is just umm… full of surprises. There are so many jaw dropping moments, it’s insane. Even the characters you’d never expect to do act in a certain way surprise you beyond words. More than Gone Girl or anything of the sort, this is full of surprises. And that ending, guys! That ending!
  .
ALL YOU HAD TO DO WAS STAY

You were all I wanted… but not like this.

1984A book you were eagerly anticipating, but ended up being disappointed by.
After years and years daydreaming of reading the classic 1984, I was incredibly disappointed at the dryness of language and at the story itself. The ideas are, obviously, beyond compare, but the book itself? Eh. I don’t deny its vision and contribution to society, but it was still a major disappointment.
  .
SHAKE IT OFF

The haters gonna hate…

Ready Player OneA book/series that everyone seems to love but you can’t help but hate.
Despite all the great reviews of it, Ready Player One by Ernest Cline is yet another disappointment. The only thing that kept me going was Wil Wheaton’s narration. Other than that, there’s not really much to impress me. Read my review here.
  .
I WISH YOU WOULD

I wish you knew I’ll never forget you as long as I live.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)A book/series you know you will always love.
Say what you will about the problems in Potter, this series shall hold my heart forever and ever. If there was a series or “a book” that changed my life in too many ways to quantify, it was this one. I’ll never forget everything Potter gave me. My whole life would be different were it not for it. Besides, they are great books.
  .

I wish you were right here, right now

Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass, #4)An upcoming release you wish you could have right now!
Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas! That cliffhanger hurts far too much. I just need to know what happens next.
 .
BAD BLOOD
Did you have to do this, I was thinking that you could be trusted. Did you have to ruin what was shiny, now it’s all rusted.
Les MisérablesAn author you haven’t forgiven for the things they did to your favourite characters/books.
Victor Hugo forever and always for what he did in Les Miserábles. All my favourites are dead, all of them! Some of them didn’t even have a first name! Why, just why?! And the musical adaptation? It’s just one of the few stories that makes me sob. Like… really sob. Ugly looking sob. I’m going to lie on the floor and never get up again sob.
   .
WILDEST DREAMS
 Nothing lasts forever but this is getting good now.
The Scorpion RulesA book/series that you wish could have gone on forever.
The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow a hundred times over! It’s one of those books that kept me up at night and that, at the end, I could only say to it “no, no, I need more! I NEED MORE!” Diversity, a villain that reminded me of Portal’s GLaDOS, great world building, intelligent themes, complex characters,… this book has everything and I need more of it.
  .
HOW YOU GET THE GIRL

That’s how it works, that’s how you get the girl.

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #1)One of your favourite books where they ‘got the girl’
Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan. Percabeth is one of the best couples out there and nothing will ever change my mind. It’s not instalove, there’s no love triangle (well, there sort of is in one book), they’re very much aware of each other’s faults, and more than anything, they are very good friends. Isn’t that what you can hope for? Read my review for The Blood of Olympus here.
  .
THIS LOVE

In darkest screams, in wildest dreams, I never dreamed on this.

Gone GirlA book that completely shocked you.
And now, the text to complement the previous mention… *drum rolls* Gone Girl! After half a book of “why is everyone obsessed about this novel?”, it made me gasp and wonder at humanity’s madness more than any other book before. It’s one freaking roller-coaster this one! Read my review here.
  .
I KNOW PLACES

Loves a fragile little flame it could burn out.

Allegiant (Divergent, #3)A book you thought you loved but quickly came to hate.
Allegiant by Veronica Roth, or the whole Divergent series really. That last book just… It made no absolute sense and invalidated everything else that happened in the previous books. I can’t believe the amount of time I wasted on this series, I absolutely can’t. Is there any way I can get that time back, please?  .
  .
CLEAN

The drought was the very worst, when the flowers that we’d grown together died of first.

A Dance with Dragons (A Song of Ice and Fire, #5)When the wait between books made you forget everything that happened.
A Dance with Dragons and pretty much every A Song of Ice and Fire book to come out in the future. Between the huge amount of story lines, characters and the time Martin takes between books, my mind is wiped clean between novels.
  .
 .
~~*~~
 .
Oof! Now that was quite the exercise (it was difficult not to answer “POTTER!” to most). If you want to give it a try, consider yourself tagged! If you do this, leave me the link and I’ll go give it a peek. I’d love to see what everyone else went for!
2 thoughts on “1989 Book Tag

  1. YAY!!! :) I’m so happy you liked the tag and decided to do it :) I LOVE your answers to. I really want to read This is Where it Ends, I’ve heard really good things about that one.The Last Leaves Falling is one I am very curious about, just not sure if I am ready for all of the feels yet. The Girl with all the Gifts is one I have owned for a while, but still haven’t got to it. I NEED TOO!!! >.< I NEED QUEEN OF SHADOWS!!!! I NEED IT!!!

    YES!!! I so agree with you about Allegiant. I just felt like none of that book made any sense, and it just made the whole series feel pointless. It ruined the whole series for me!

    Like

    • It’s too good a tag to pass! :D And yay for you liking my answers! *does a little dance*

      Oh, yes, you do need to be in the mood for feels when you read The Last Leaves Falling. Your heart will be utterly crushed either way, but not being a tiny bit ready to begin with is probably not a good idea. Still, I do hope you read it! It’s probably one of my favourite books :) I hope you manage to read it, This Is Where It Ends, and The Girl with All the Gifts! They’re all great and all diverse :D Speaking of the last one, apparently they’re turning it into a movie? So that’s exciting!

      I know! I need Queen of Shadows too! Although, I am very concerned about my favourite character… Why is it always my faves who die/get injured?!

      Yup, it ruined it for me too. I wiped most of it away from my mind. Sadly, I didn’t manage to forget the whole “oh, you can look at a DNA molecule using a microscope” bit, which, you know, is impossible. And I doubt it’ll change in the way Roth meant it – not for hundreds and hundreds of years (if ever).

      Like

Leave a Reply

