Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books I Read In 2015

 photo TopTenTuesdays_zps683ac501.jpg

This is a couple of weeks late, but I wanted to do tis Top Ten Tuesday as close to the end of 2015 as possible. And well, here we are! Very close to the end of the year.

Unfortunately, I didn’t read as much or as variedly as I wished as this year has been more topsy-turvy than I expected. Nonetheless, I still had the honour of reading books that stole my breath away – enough of them that it made it quite hard to pick only ten. Ready to see them? Well, here they are!

 

Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4), Marissa Meyer

Winter was the perfect ending to this magical series. It wrapped up everyone’s stories while leaving us wondering what would happen next. It stabbed and twisted a knife into our guts while making us giggle like fools. It was a beautiful fairytale, and I miss it terribly.

Welcome to Night Vale, Joseph Fink & Jeffrey CranorWelcome to Night Vale

I’d been waiting for this ever since I heard there would be a WTNV novel, and it did not disappoint. Whether or not you’re a fan of the podcast, I’m sure you’ll love it. It’s poignant, deep, funny, creepy,  weird and… a friend. Above all, this is a book that understands.

The Scorpion Rules (Prisoners of Peace, #1)The Scorpion RulesErin Bow

Subversiveness is the word of order here. This book is simply great, and just thinking of it makes me squeal. Brilliant plot, the most fantastic villain, the best worldbuilding, exceedingly thought provoking and with the best plot twists. What isn’t there to love?!

UprootedUprooted, Naomi Novik

There is a fairytale feeling to Uprooted that isn’t easily found anywhere. A feeling that is a plenty in this novel. From the wizard in the tower, to prince charming, to the dark forest, Uprooted has it all. And it twists it around until you’re yearning for so much more.

Deathless (Leningrad Diptych, #1)Deathless, Catherynne M. Valente

Deathless is the sort of book that doesn’t quite leave you, not even months after reading it. Valente’s prose, hand-in-hand with the story’s rawness create an unique experience that is impossible to explain and enrapturing to behold. This is an unmissable book.

The Lie Tree, Frances HardingeThe Lie Tree

This book makes this biologist, feminist, fantasy lover bookworm very happy. Not only because it tackles all those points, but also due to the novel’s heart, eeriness and how immersive it is. It’s nothing but breathtaking. Read my review here.

Lair of Dreams (The Diviners #2), Libba Bray

This was one of my most waited books of 2015 and it did not disappoint. The Diviners’ cast grows, as does the tension and the feeling of something amiss. I cannot wait to see where Bray takes us next. Wherever it is, it’ll be somewhere brilliantly unexpected.

The Martian, Andy WeirThe Martian

Probably the first and only scientific book where I nodded happily along to the science in it. Not that I know much of physics, but it felt right unlike most books. If that wasn’t enough to win me over, the mix of wit, great characterisation and wicked plot won me over.

This Is Where It EndsThis is Where It Ends, Marieke Nijkamp

This book returns the horror to school shootings, a subject many of us are becoming desensitised about. If it wasn’t a raw tearjerker before, in the light of recent worldwide events, it’s sure to be an even more important read. Read my review here.

Maskerade (Discworld #18; Witches #5), Terry PratchettMaskerade (Discworld, #18)

2015 was the most Pratchett-full year of my life. Although I panic a bit every time I finish one of his books (one less to read for the first time!), it’s thrilling to finally read him properly. Maskerade was one of my favourites, what with all the theatre references and some great Granny and Nanny action. It’s just amazing!

 .
  .
Honorary mentions go to A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan, The Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. MaasScott Lynch’s The Gentleman Bastards series, all other Discworld books I read (too many to mention here, too few to say it was the whole series), the Serenity comics by Joss and Zach Whedon, the Saga comics by Brian K. Vaughan, John Scalzi’s Fuzzy Nation, World War Z by Max Brooks, The Girl With All the Gifts by M.R. Carey, The Walls Around Us by Nova Ren Suma, Liars Inc. by Paula Stokes, Paperweight by Meg Haston, Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro, and The First Law series by Joe Abercrombie.
Oof! That was hard. I hope I’ve not forgotten any books!
And of course…
HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!

 ~~*~~

How about you?
What were your favourite reads this year?

 

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books I Read In 2015

  1. I’ve heard great things about The Girl with All the Gifts, and Deathless looks really good. I really must get into Terry Pratchett.

    Our only crossover is ToG – I read ToG and CoM, which I really enjoyed. I’m v excited to pursue this series!

    My best reads of 2015 were The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt (stunning book, my favourite); This Side of Paradise by F Scott Fitzgerald (my one love) and A Farewell to Arms by Ernest Hemingway (beautiful).

    Happy new year!

    Like

    • They’re all great, great books, if you ask me! But then, I am rather biased there. Do tell me what you thought of them if you ever get to read them :)

      ToG is quite good, isn’t it? And Sarah is so nice as well! I hope you enjoy the next books! I’m reading ACOTAR now while waiting for the next ToG ones. Did you read it yet?

      I’ve heard quite a lot about The Goldfinch. Let’s see if 2016 is the year I manage to read it :)

      Happy new year right back at you! :D

      Like

    • It is a very different book, yes. I guess you have to get into it expecting an unusual read. Otherwise, it’s inevitable that you’ll be disappointed, especially at the end. It’s not what one would expect from a novel. Any kind of novel.

      I do hope you’ll give it another try in the future and that you enjoy it! :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

