Introducing Guest Blogger, Diana Sousa

Yes, you read that right! Tessellated Tales is going to have its very first guest blogger, and it couldn’t be anyone better. In fact, you might have heard of her or stumbled upon her work.

Diana Sousa is a designer, a writer, an artist, an editor, a book reviewer, and an altogether amazing person. Not only does she write articles for the geeky blog Lytherus, but she’s the one behind the current We Need Diverse Books website, and has made plenty of beautiful bookmarks and book merch for such authors as Marieke Nijkamp and Ellen Oh. She has also been interviewing the artists behind book covers in a brilliant blog series called Behind The Cover. It’s definitely worth a read!

Now, she’s come to join us here for some more geeking out over books! And what time is better than the present to start doing so?

(Spoiler alert: this conversation includes dinosaurs, dragons, and a lot of books.)

Hello hello, Diana. Ready for a chat with horribly difficult questions?

Probably not, but throw them at me!

Don’t worry, we’ll start off easy. Tell us, what book genres do you enjoy reading the most?

Even though choosing favourites is never easy *insert some foreshadowing here*, this might be rather easy. The genres I enjoy and read the most are definitely Science-Fiction and Fantasy, and variations of those two across the speculative fiction genre.

You are very right about the foreshadowing. The easy level never lasts long, does it? So tell us, what is your absolute favourite book for each of those genres? Or, okay, favourite two. Because I’m nice.

Ugh. This is too hard. Can I choose favourite two… dozens?

Are you sure two dozens would still be enough?

One dozen for each would at least be easier. I can work with 24 books.

We have to level up though, and make things harder. That’s how it works in games, right? But I’ll make you a deal. Six books for each and a… complementary question or two to ease your conscience. Sounds good?

You aren’t GLADOS, you don’t have to make things harder. If anything I’m the villain of the game. (Even though that complementary question sounds ominous).

But, huh… yes, where were we? Ok, I can do that. I think. I’m regretting not choosing more genres. Let’s see… In no particular order:

Fantasy:

  • The Harry Potter series, by Her Majesty J. K. Rowling
  • Good Omens, by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett
  • The Kingkiller Chronicle series, by Patrick Rothfuss
  • Memoirs by Lady Trent series, by Marie Brennan
  • I was going to say most of the Discworld books, but that would be cheating… the books in the Death series, then? By Terry Pratchett.
  • The Diviners, by Libba Bray

Science-Fiction:

  • Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series, by Douglas Adams
  • The Lunar Chronicles series, by Marissa Meyer
  • The Clockwork Century series, by Cherie Priest
  • The Saga comic series, by Fiona Staples and Brian K. Vaughan
  • The Martian, by Andy Weir
  • Vicious, by V. E. Schwab

*goes over the list a thousand times*

Yay, you made it! I hope you don’t have a lot of nightmares tonight over those you didn’t mention. In case you do, though, here’s a chance to cover a few more: what are the five books you think everyone should read?

CODE NAME VERITY.

…I mean. I apologise for that outburst. But if I could I’d choose that book for the the entire list. But let’s try and be fair…

  • Code Name Verity, by Elizabeth Wein
  • The Night Circus, by Erin Morgenstern
  • The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak
  • Neverwhere, by Neil Gaiman
  • The Art of Asking; or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Let People Help, by Amanda Palmer

Never apologise for outbursts over books. They are necessary and wonderful. Okay, for the last “pick books” question, have you read any debuts lately that made your jaw drop?

There are so many amazing authors publishing their debuts now, and I can’t wait to see what they’ll give us next. But I want to mention:

  • This Is Where It Ends, by Marieke Nijkamp
  • The Micah Grey series, by Laura Lam
  • The Last Leaves Falling, by Sarah Benwell
  • Far From You, by Tess Sharpe
  • And… although I haven’t read her proper debut, I want to mention Corinne Duyvis’ debut in sci-fi: On The Edge of Gone

And for a different kind of hard question… Which book pet would you like to own?

Since a dragon might be too big to be considered a pet (and a proper dragon is an intelligent one which can’t be “owned”)… I say fire lizard from Dragonriders of Pern, by Anne McCaffrey.

Good thing it’s not a proper dragon, or Hagrid might try to fight you over it!

Speaking of Hagrid, if you had a knife that allowed you to visit as many world as you could, but only once, which world would you visit first, and which would you go to last?

That is a horrible question. And since when does Hagrid have knives, he’s too sweet and harmless. I’m totally not delaying answering this.

Well, maybe he doesn’t have one of these exactly, but being a groundskeeper must come with some weaponry. Even if it’s just a poker.

Lies.

Alright, so… the first one would be the world of Bioshock Infinite. It’s not a book, but the mixture between steampunk, electropunk, the music, and everything just makes it absolutely gorgeous. I’d do without bad guys running after me, though.

And then, after visiting *inserts hundreds of worlds here* I would go to… (This was a very difficult decision between this that universe with lightsabers and sci-fi samurais, and the one I’m going to say… but since this is a book blog… [although, you know, there are more books in that universe than this one… but alright {so many parentheses}]) Hogwarts. Because who wouldn’t? (But preferably in a time when Harry wasn’t there ruining everything for everyone with his giant snakes and his friend Lord Voldie).

Who wouldn’t love to go to Hogwarts, indeed! And final destination meant you could stay there forever and ever.

WAIT, what about Doctor Who? Oh wait, that’s my world now, so okay, okay, I maintain my answers. *cough, whistles innocently*

No, no, I’m the one in the TARDIS. You’ve made a mistake *nods* But let’s say you did have the chance to travel through all of time and space. What is the story that hasn’t been written (yet) and you’d love to read? That one story missing from the great library with all works ever written?

Answering this seriously is too difficult. There are too many options, too many things that I could choose… so I’ll go the silly route. I want a steampunk universe, with Jedi and Sith and smugglers and pilots, maybe some dinosaurs, and definitely air/space pirates. Dragons are welcome too. Maybe some fancy Jaegers, with monocles? Everyone is very well dressed (it’s steampunk, afterall), they all like tea, and chocolate is a never ending resource. Instant best-seller, I say.

Okay, I want to read that now. Fancy writing it within the week? I can smell an instant movie deal and blockbuster in tow.

(Made by the Wachowskis or JJ Abrams, pleasethankyou. Written by Guillermo del Totoro. Concept art by Iain McCaig. Music by John Williams or Hans Zimmer. See, I have this all planned)

Get that novel ready, and I’ll personally shower them in emails. Is there any other story you’d love to see on the screen?

(CODE NAME VERITY) Actually, I think the Memoirs by Lady Trent would make an amazing TV show. Who can say no to dragons and amazing lady archaeologists? Either that or The Lunar Chronicles, but I’m a bit wary of YA adaptations to the big screen.

They would both be amazing! If done well, of course, but that’s how it goes for everything, isn’t it?

Two final short questions and you’re free to start writing that story: what is your Hogwarts house and where can our readers find you?

I’m a Ravenclaw (or Slytherclaw if we’re doing an in-depth interview). And people can find me burning through the sky (yeah!) travelling at the speed of light!


Either that or on my Twitter or website!

Thank you for reading all this and enduring until now, and thank you Tess for letting me spew nonsense on your blog!

Anytime, Diana! Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

 ~~*~~

Stay tuned for Diana’s first review on Tessellated Tales, coming very very soon!

Leave a Reply

